Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 1998 Prostar 205

1998 MC with 5.7
    Hi...I'm new to boat ownership and just purchased a like new 98. I just tucked my boat away after doing a thorough winterization. I pulled the plugs and sprayed engine fogger into the cylinders and replaced the plugs with new plugs. Is that enough or should I pull the safety lanyard and turn the engine over? I also changed the fuel filter and changed all the fluids and of course drained the water from the appropriate locations. While cleaning the boat I found another fuel filter on top of my gas tank. A little research and I found out mC used a power steering filter at this location in 98. I called skidim and was told I could just use the identical filter that I had replaced on the engine. Has anyone else run into this and do u think I will be ok with the new filter that is not identical? Also I'm changing the location of the filter so it's easier to get to next winter. I'm moving it to the rear of the boat in the bilge area and it won't be in water. I also ordered it with barbed fitting so I can use hose clamps since it's between the tank and fuel pump...does this sound ok? Also, we live in hayden, Idaho and keep our boat on Hayden Lake. I can't believe at 56 years old we waited this long to get a boat...we surf no rope behind it and what a blast.
    Thanks, Larry
    Attached Files

Oh ya one more thing. Where can I buy a navigation light that goes on my tower on top of the rope saver? Thanks again

Comment

check attwood to see if they have that light. http://www.attwoodmarine.com/

congrats and welcome - I bought mine in 2010 - I waited way too long to get mine too.

mike
      sigpic...A bad day water skiing still beats a good day at work...1995 Pro Star 205....

Comment

Originally posted by Larry115 View Post
        I can't believe at 56 years old we waited this long to get a boat...we surf no rope behind it and what a blast.Thanks, Larry