too late for fuel stabil?

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• too late for fuel stabil?

so i live down here in georgia, and i haven't had to "winterize" the boat necessarily for the entire winter, just drain the block every now and then when it freezes. i've been taking the boat out every 2-3 weeks, but i haven't had to refill it in some time. i've read that gas breaks down after two weeks, but the boat hasn't been running bad when i've taken it out. should i go ahead and try to run off the remaining 1/4 of a tank and then thrown some fuel stabil in about half a tank and let it run through some of it?

it's been one of those things that i've just forgotten to do........

I'm not an expert on fuel destabilizing but I think you run it enuff not to worry about it. But just to make yourself feel better, don't run off the 1/4 tank just put in the stabile and bring it up to 3/4 full so when weather warms up fuel won't expand and run over!!!

Comment

Originally posted by chudson
      I'm not an expert on fuel destabilizing but I think you run it enuff not to worry about it. But just to make yourself feel better, don't run off the 1/4 tank just put in the stabile and bring it up to 3/4 full so when weather warms up fuel won't expand and run over!!!
      I am not certain about this, but I propose fuel density doesnt change that much from 30°F to 100°F. For example the density of liquids like octane, heptane, ethanol, and water only decrease 4 - 5% over this range. You bring up a great point, but 1/4 tank might be too much of a buffer. But then again...how accurate are our fuel gauges?

EDIT: I found once that temperature makes a huge difference if the tank is so full (or the boat is cocked) that the vent line contains fuel. This effectively seals off the fuel tank. The vapors expand strongly with increasing temperature, raising the pressure in the tank, and spraying out fuel from the vent. Big mess...