Go Back   TeamTalk > General MasterCraft Topics > General Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11  
Old 05-23-2020, 10:39 AM
88 PS190 88 PS190 is online now
MC Addict
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Boat: 1988 MC Prostar 190, 351 Ford
Location: Midwest
Posts: 5,183
Send a message via AIM to 88 PS190
Ah so you didn't want to admit to tubing. classic.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 05-23-2020, 12:29 PM
BostwickLakePS205 BostwickLakePS205 is offline
TT Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Boat: Mastercraft Prostar 205 1994
Location: Michigan
Posts: 27
Can anyone give me a little more insight or step-by-step on cleaning the screen on the inlet side of the fuel pump. Do I have to take the fuel pump off? Or can I just shoot the carb cleaner up into it?
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 05-23-2020, 02:38 PM
88 PS190 88 PS190 is online now
MC Addict
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Boat: 1988 MC Prostar 190, 351 Ford
Location: Midwest
Posts: 5,183
Send a message via AIM to 88 PS190
Literally just look for junk in there. We're not talking spray it out just inspect for debris
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 05-23-2020, 06:46 PM
h20skier2's Avatar
h20skier2 h20skier2 is offline
TT Regular
 
Join Date: May 2014
Boat: 2009 X14, 2002 ProStar 197
Location: Southwest
Posts: 36
I had this in my 03 197; turned out to be a clogged fuel sending unit


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 05-24-2020, 03:26 PM
BostwickLakePS205 BostwickLakePS205 is offline
TT Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Boat: Mastercraft Prostar 205 1994
Location: Michigan
Posts: 27
Well, with everything going on in the world, maybe you can all use good laugh! I'm tempted to say.. "thanks for all the great advice, I used it and I'm back on the water!" which would be true. But the more embarrassing truth is that... Wait for it.. . Out of gas. Yeeesh, where's the emoji for blushing while hanging my head!

2 things contributed to my blunder. When I took it out of storage, I noticed the fuel gage didn't seem to be working.

2ndly, on the way to the put in, I stopped at the gas station to top off the tank (usually store it full). When I started to put gas in, in less than 5 seconds, fuel started coming out the overflow. I was surprised and gave it a another quick shot. More fluid out of the overflow. So, I thought I was full and the only used it for about an hour before I started having problems (which I described as "feeling like I was running out of gas" but I "knew" I had gas because I just saw something come out the overflow. I'm scratching my head. It seems like I was actually almost out of gas, but when I fueled it up, something came out the overflow. How can this be?

Time to think up a new screen name :-)
Thanks for all the help!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:03 PM.


2020