Go Back   TeamTalk > Maintenance Tips, How-tos and Refurbishing Topics > Electrical

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-07-2019, 03:58 PM
gaz46 gaz46 is offline
TT Regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Boat: mastercraft 190
Location: the north
Posts: 75
94 prostar Lt 1 no tacho.

Hi guys.

New to me 94, had a few electrical issues and has been laid up for 6 years. The tacho doesn't work. Just wondered where to start? All the other gauges are ok.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-07-2019, 06:56 PM
waterlogged882 waterlogged882 is offline
MC Master Poster
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Boat: 93 190
Location: lake
Posts: 12,915
At the coil (-) post. Clean the connection. Should be a gray wire.

Back of the tach...clean the connections including the ground.

Most of the connections inside the dash are piggy-backed from post to post. Another connection upstream could also be the culprit, however you state all of those upstream are working.

.
__________________
John 14:6

Last edited by waterlogged882; 09-07-2019 at 07:31 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-09-2019, 04:34 PM
88 PS190 88 PS190 is offline
MC Maniac
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Boat: 1988 MC Prostar 190, 351 Ford
Location: Midwest
Posts: 4,772
Send a message via AIM to 88 PS190
Does it have a perfect pass and if so does the PP RPM work?

Does the tach have a hour meter and if so does it seem to work?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-09-2019, 04:40 PM
gaz46 gaz46 is offline
TT Regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Boat: mastercraft 190
Location: the north
Posts: 75
Hi.

There's no perfect pass fitted. It does have the hour gauge in the tacho, I never noticed if that was actually working!!! I'll take a look tomorrow. Are there any common causes?

I have had a few electrical issues, there were a few broken connections in the engine harness that plugs in to the rear of the motor.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-09-2019, 05:04 PM
88 PS190 88 PS190 is offline
MC Maniac
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Boat: 1988 MC Prostar 190, 351 Ford
Location: Midwest
Posts: 4,772
Send a message via AIM to 88 PS190
Thing needs power, thing needs ground, thing needs tach signal.

If it has all 3 and doesn't work it needs new gauge.

Sometimes the hourmeter will still roll even if the tach doesn't work which usually means dead gauge - something you can see w/o opening it up.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:51 PM.


2018