No announcement yet.

For those familiar with the Sportstar..

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• For those familiar with the Sportstar..

I have a 1999 Mastercraft Sportstar and I am probably going to be selling it to my brother in law pretty soon… it does have the drip less drive shaft.

i noticed last summer I had to empty the bilge more than normal… is there any particular areas I should look at for where water could be coming in? I thought if it was dripless there was no rope seal?

also, does anyone have a picture of where to grease the rudder? I read some where there is a fitting, but I’ve looked and not been able to locate anything.

Any help is appreciated
    99 Mastercraft Sportstar

Originally posted by 99mastercraft View Post
    I have a 1999 Mastercraft Sportstar and I am probably going to be selling it to my brother in law pretty soon… it does have the drip less drive shaft.

i noticed last summer I had to empty the bilge more than normal… is there any particular areas I should look at for where water could be coming in? I thought if it was dripless there was no rope seal?

also, does anyone have a picture of where to grease the rudder? I read some where there is a fitting, but I’ve looked and not been able to locate anything.

Any help is appreciated
    The shaft seal is dripless only if you have installed a designated dripless seal system or the boat was manufactured with a dripless system. Otherwise you will have a gland seal with packing. Hard to say without a photo.

There are multiple places water can enter: Leaking rudder seals, shaft seal, exhaust muffler(s) with a hole, raw water pump seal, circulating pump, hose (clamp) connection, around the rub rail, exhaust port(s), transmission cooler, or platform lag bolt(s) if it is fastened with that configuration.

Not all rudder shaft bodies have a grease zerk. If it does, the zerk will be on the forward side of the rudder shaft body.