Heated garage

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Heated garage

I am going to pull my boat out this weekend. It is a 2019 XT21 with the ilmor 5.7 motor. It is being stored in a heated garage so I was planning to winterize it my self. My plan was to change the oil and filter and drain the water out of the block and store it dry this year, no antifreeze. I changed transmission fluid last year and the impeller. only put a little over 60 hrs on it so I think they should be ok. Any thoughts on storing the boat dry instead of pickled ?

IMHO, for the extra 20 minutes and $20 its cheap insurance to put in antifreeze. You would probably be fine without but, hey, you never know.

Comment

Lakedrum, I was thinking the same thing but I have never done the antifreeze by myself before, always had the dealer winterize it so that part of the job would be new to me.

Comment

I was intimidated the first time and than again on my v-drive, but once you do it it's great insurance as opposed to storing dry. Most difficult part is contorting your body to get in some small spots.

Comment

My boat sits in a heated garage, but I still put antifreeze in it just in case.
          2003 ProStar 197, MCX and Powerslot.

"When injustice becomes law, resistance becomes duty" - Thomas Jefferson
          "Freedom is beneficial to everyone equally" - Ron Paul
          Taxation = Theft

Comment

I went 20 years without putting a drop of antifreeze in my old boats (stored in a non-heated garage) so you'd probably be fine. I'd put some in just for insurance though. This forum actually introduced me to the antifreeze trick... I guess I live under a rock lol.
            -Tolman
            '22 XT23 "Big Kahuna"
            '06 X30 (Sold)

"Sometimes my genius, it's almost frightening" -JC

Comment