Lake Powell Houseboating Advice

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Lake Powell Houseboating Advice

We’re planning our first Powell trip in August on a 75ft Excusion Houseboat out of Wahweap. I’ve rented 50ft houseboats before on Lake Shasta so I have some experience towing and anchoring. There we typically find the same cove year after year then anchor off and use it as our home base for the week without it really ever moving. Being new to Powell I’d really appreciate some advice:

1) Are there any particular arms/areas that are better or worse for morning ski water? Suggestions on where to park the houseboat? We usually go through a tank a day on the MC skiing, wakeboarding, and surfing so even with the toy tank I’d like to be within 10 miles or so of Dangling Rope marina for an afternoon top off and an ice cream
    2) What kind of water can we expect in the mornings, mid day, evenings?
    3) Is the strategy to find a nice central beach for the week then use the MC for excursions such as rainbow bridge and afternoon sight-seeing a decent plan?
    4) I’m worried about fuel consumption in the house boat and running out of fuel – any rough estimates of gal/hr? The web site note of 2 gal /mi seems limiting since it would barely make it the closest marina before running out
    5) Similar for the generator consumption – any estimates? Do you need to run it 24/7 in the summer or just during the heat of the day?
    6) I’ve read all the links on towing so will avoid those risks through the narrow areas but any other suggestions or itinerary thoughts?

Thanks!
    2016 Metallic Blue X10
    ex 1998 Sportstar 19
    ex 1972 17’ Tahati I/O

My top suggestions:

1. Can you find a boat to rent out of a different marina? Wahweep is a total cluster and it will take you hours to load up and you’ll be bumbling down the dock bumping into all the other people loading up.