Connelly versus Radar slalom

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Connelly versus Radar slalom

So I have been skiing on various Connelly skis for 30+ years. I spent a single season on an HO and hated every moment, so I assume this is just differences in skiing styles. I'm looking for a new ski now and noticing a few things. Connelly still has an impressive list of champions and podiums each year (I'm a Joel Howley fan for sure), but Radar seems to be all the rage on the forums like BallofSpray and one other competing forum that I won't mention.

From what I can read, the Radar rides higher and the Connelly rides deeper. While I am of course used to the latter, and I missing out on something? I am wanting to buy a new ski because my old one is 15 years old and I simply know that technology changes over time.

Thoughts? What are you guys riding? I am 5-10, 195, and trying to eat more vegetables...lol

I was skiing a Connelly Concept until about 4 years ago. The ski was probably 5 years old at the time and never really worked well for me. Local pro shop talked me into taking a RADAR Senate for a weekend and I never returned it.

The Senate for me was super easy to turn and didn't try to buck me off like the Concept did. Maybe I'm just old to too fat but I swear that b!tch was trying to kill me every time I went out. I had 2 over the front falls which is how I ended up at the pro shop. I'm 6'1, 220 and I'm riding a 69" Senate at 32. As if the ski alone wasn't enough to make me switch the Prime boots are the stuff. I have fat feet and these are the most comfortable boots I've ever used. The boots on the Connelly would have my feet cramping after a single short run.

It all depends on what you're looking for but the Senate with Prime bindings worked for me.

Comment