DIY Winter Ice Rinks

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• DIY Winter Ice Rinks

OK so almost every year we make rinks out on the lake. Now I get that lakes because of the constant making of ice you get the cracks and such and also you have to deal with other variables that backyard rinks don't have to deal with but is there an easy way to keep the ice smooth without making a diy zamboni? I did pick up a few months ago a 2" gas clear water pump that i'm thinking about using on nights when I know it will be calm and i can just flood it to get a nice coating. any suggestions would be great the easier the better.

btw here is the pump i got. I did not pick it up from here just the first link i could find.
    https://shop.midsouthag.com/products...160-5hp-engine

I used to live near an old duffer that made a rink on the lake in front of his house every season for the neighborhood. That guy had it down to a science.

So, while I am by no means an expert, a few things I do remember about his process from when I was a kid, was helping him fill cracks with slush and then scraping them smooth with a flat shovel, sweeping the ice after it was shoveled, and his old (somewhat ancient looking) on demand water heater. He had shore power at his dock that he’d run a small pump to draw water from a hole in the lake and then cycled it through the heater before flooding. I doubt that’s really necessary, and don’t know if you even have the capacity to do similar in your location, but I can definitely see merits in melting the surface as you recoat to help fill in any imperfections…. and, Zambonis use hot water, so I guess it makes sense.

Comment

+1 to 86 tips above which we used for pond hockey, and to a quick pump flood over when calm.

Oz will be along to shed MN lake hockey tech.
      Last edited by moosehead; 01-06-2022, 01:32 PM.

Comment

I've been messing with our pond the last couple years. I don't have it down pat, but here's some things I've learned: