Boat lift help

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Boat lift help

Hoping to get a basis of what to expect to pay for a shore mate used boat lift, install and potentially winter storage. My family just got a place in northern Indiana and although I'm a fairly seasoned boat owner (end of 4th summer at age 27) I'm new to the lift game. Best brands? Can I move and install myself? Can you take them apart each winter for easier storage? Is there maintence required? Are fixes easy? What to look for when buying used? I've looked on Craigslist in the area and free like I can get in the game for $3000 for a nice lift with potentially a canopy. I'm pretty handy but not sure if it's worth spending the extra cash each season to have someone take care of it each year. Any insight would be great. 91 Maristar currently but also looking to upgrade a few years to an early 2000 pro star
    Attached Files

quite a few questions to answer to steer you on a boat lift....BTW, gorgeous lake!!!!

Considerations:

- type of shoreline? Level grade or steep
    - depth of water and how gradual / quick water drops off....do you need to go out 20ft or 100ft??
    - type of bottom it will sit on? Sand, fine stones, coarse stones, muck

As for storage, most people will bring their lift onto shore (above risk of ice shoves, etc) for the off season. Ideally, if you have a level, hard bottom shoreline, a wheel kit or two and an ATV/UTV/Truck with a top strap makes taking out easy. Any type of slope and hard bottom makes putting in easy as it's gravity

Opposite extreme, lots of trees and steep shoreline and muck bottom (my world)...some float tubes, an atv with a winch are necessities to get it out. The float tubes and a couple of sets of extra hands to guide for putting in at springtime. Muck bottom has me cutting 2ft x 4ft plywood pads for underneath the feat to minimize sinking...its a PITA.

As for maintenance, lubricating winch components.