• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • darrylwie
    TT Newbie
    • Aug 2019

2010 X25 Surfing on Starboard side

Hello,
    I am new to Team Talk as I just purchased a 2010 X25. I am very impressed, it is a HUGE upgrade over my 2006 Centurion Air Warrior in so many ways.
    However, I am having a hard time getting a decent surf wave on the right (Starboard side). My daughters and I are all goofy foot, so that is the side we surf on. The surf wave on the Port side is fantastic, so I don’t know why it is so different on the Starboard side.
    I am using a Mission Delta wave shaper and weighting the boat evenly (both side and KGB are full), but when I put it on the Port side (to surf Starboard) it seems to be further out of the water than on the opposite side. I was considering putting more weight on that side, but it seems counterintuitive for surfing??
    I tried the Gen 1 surf tabs, and they seem to be working, but I was wondering if maybe the port side tab is giving way under pressure?
    Also, the ballasts only seem to fill when the boat is revving around 1500-2000 rpm, which means that once I select my setup from the list, which you can only do at idle, it will set my tabs, but I have to fill the ballast manually. Anyone else experience this or nor what the fix is?
    Thank you,
  • drballenbc
    TT Enthusiast
    • Dec 2013

You need more weight overall surfing goofy side on an X25. What do you have for sacs in the rear? Stock is about 400lbs over each tank but you can fit 720's in there. I also have about 400 lbs of lead scattered ( 200 in the bow and 100 on each side in front of the rear tanks.) We add an additional 400 lb sac on the floor starboard side when surfing goofy to get the best wave.
    BTW for goofy side I use a wakemate shaper but I also have GSA tabs and use it at about 50% in addition to the shaper and run the center tab at about 30% at about 10.6-10.8 mph.