• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • LiquidAsset
    TT Newbie
    • Sep 2020

Bringing an 89 Prostar back to life

Hi everyone,
    Earlier this year I picked up an old Mastercraft as a project. It had been sitting for years and I knew it would need a bunch of work. It was complete and had run a couple years ago when a friend of mine started to restore it.

I am new to ski boats so I figured it would be a good learning project.

This forum has turned out to be very helpful along the way.

First thing was a pressure wash, to remove the upholstery, and pull out the old carpet.

Josh
    Attached Files
  • LiquidAsset
    TT Newbie
    • Sep 2020

Looking it over I didn’t see any significant damage. The previous owner had replaced a few parts and made it run but wasn’t able to finish the project.

The gas had gone bad in the tank so I decided to go through the boat before trying to make it run again.

I looked at the trailer and could tell it didn’t fit the boat and obviously wasn’t the original.

Comment

• mikeg205
      MC Master Poster
      • Aug 2011

Definitely not an MC trailer, but hull does not look damaged.

She looks solid... looking forward to progress pics

Sent from my SM-G955U using Tapatalk
      sigpic...A bad day water skiing still beats a good day at work...1995 Pro Star 205....

Comment

• LiquidAsset
        TT Newbie
        • Sep 2020

I started making a checklist. It looked like the boat was going to need some common parts from age and weather and maybe some things beyond. I have a clean Chevy square body truck that I thought would match the vintage of the boat so the paint color needed to change.

I am a bit of a jack of all trades and am a metal fabricator/machinist for a living so the obvious was easy to plan.

Electrical - wiring, dash switches, bow and stern light, add dual battery and switch, gauges
        Engine - spark plugs, coil, (Mallory electronic distributor was already installed)
        Free up engine mounts for alignment