Go Back   TeamTalk > Maintenance Tips, How-tos and Refurbishing Topics > Engine / Drive Train

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-15-2019, 05:33 AM
vespa vespa is offline
TT Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Boat: Mastercraft X2 2008. vortex 350
Location: Middle East
Posts: 4
Talking After timing the engine and set idle ,engine goes back out of time .

Hi , I did the timing with a timing light after changing the distributor on MCX vortex V8 engine , Mastercraft X2 2008 . Everything is perfect until yo go idle , as soon as you engage the gear , the engine looks out of timing again . If I stop the engine , disconnect the battery and then start , everything goes perfect .
Any feedback Appreciated !!!!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-15-2019, 05:57 AM
JohnnyB's Avatar
JohnnyB JohnnyB is offline
MC Maniac
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Boat: 2004 Prostar 190
Location: Titletown
Posts: 3,985
How did you set timing? I believe you need to put the ECM into timing mode which raises the rpm automatically and holds it while you set timing.

I know on an rtp you can do it my jumpering 2 pins in the odb plug in....not sure on an MCX

Sent from my SM-G920R6 using Tapatalk
__________________
Everyone Dies, but not everyone lives

2004 Prostar 197, ACME 843
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-15-2019, 11:09 AM
CantRepeat's Avatar
CantRepeat CantRepeat is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Boat: Passively looking for a CSX 265
Location: Roll Tide!!
Posts: 15,310
Quote:
Originally Posted by JohnnyB View Post
How did you set timing? I believe you need to put the ECM into timing mode which raises the rpm automatically and holds it while you set timing.

I know on an rtp you can do it my jumpering 2 pins in the odb plug in....not sure on an MCX

Sent from my SM-G920R6 using Tapatalk
Different computer on the RTP and that 08 so you can't just jump the DLC like the old days.

OP you'll need a scan tool or Diacom software and cable to put the MEFI 5 ecu into diagnostic mode so you can set the timing.

How are you setting the idle? There should be no mechanical changes you can do on that motor to change the idle. It's done in the ecu.
__________________
-Tim
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-15-2019, 02:58 PM
vespa vespa is offline
TT Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Boat: Mastercraft X2 2008. vortex 350
Location: Middle East
Posts: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by JohnnyB View Post
How did you set timing? I believe you need to put the ECM into timing mode which raises the rpm automatically and holds it while you set timing.

I know on an rtp you can do it my jumpering 2 pins in the odb plug in....not sure on an MCX

Sent from my SM-G920R6 using Tapatalk
Yes you are right , To set the timing, the engine must be put into diagnostic mode. The easiest way to do this is take a paper clip and use it as a jumper to jump pins A and B of the data connector on the back of the engine. This connector is in the main wiring harness by itself and has a gray and black cover on it (see bad picture). The pins are marked so it will be easy to know where to put the paper clip. Stick one end of the paper clip in pin A and the other end in pin B. When you start the engine it should idle at 1000 RPMs.
But I still wonder how to do the timing when everything is set.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-15-2019, 03:04 PM
vespa vespa is offline
TT Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Boat: Mastercraft X2 2008. vortex 350
Location: Middle East
Posts: 4
Can you pls tell me what to do for timing the engine when I manage to set the MEFI 5 eco i to diagnostic mode ?
About setting the idle , what I mean was thrust in idle . Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-15-2019, 03:23 PM
sand2snow22's Avatar
sand2snow22 sand2snow22 is offline
MC Maniac
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Boat: X24
Location: p-town
Posts: 4,017
HV cap? MCX or RTP? In Diacomm, cam angle 705 plus or minus 5 above 1,200 RPM's!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-15-2019, 04:16 PM
vespa vespa is offline
TT Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Boat: Mastercraft X2 2008. vortex 350
Location: Middle East
Posts: 4
Name:  F5220E65-3525-46DD-A628-3E8BB6561A51.jpg
Views: 138
Size:  147.5 KB
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-16-2019, 10:45 PM
gwozhog's Avatar
gwozhog gwozhog is offline
MC Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Boat: Achilles sg124
Location: south
Posts: 942
If that is a current pick you need to either clean or replace your air filter. That thing looks clogged and might be giving you problems.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-16-2019, 11:50 PM
sand2snow22's Avatar
sand2snow22 sand2snow22 is offline
MC Maniac
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Boat: X24
Location: p-town
Posts: 4,017
Quote:
Originally Posted by gwozhog View Post
If that is a current pick you need to either clean or replace your air filter. That thing looks clogged and might be giving you problems.
Yes, if they are real dirty they won't stay running at idle..
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:55 AM.


2018