Go Back   TeamTalk > Maintenance Tips, How-tos and Refurbishing Topics > Electrical

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-06-2021, 08:19 AM
Shawnymac11 Shawnymac11 is offline
TT Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Boat: 1992 Mastercraft Prostar 190
Location: Midwest
Posts: 100
New Bilge Pump

I've dug deep into archives and found great information on replacing the original bilge pump. I have not found the exact answer on the wiring.

Old yellow/black mayfair pump had brown/black wires
Old Float switch had two grey wires

How do I connect the new Rule pump that has a built in float?
Rule Pump has:
Brown Wire-Automatic
Brown w/ white stripe-Manual Override
Black- the negative wire

I just can't figure out how to go from (factory) 4 wires coming from the dash, to three wires at the new pump. Any help would be appreciated.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-15-2021, 10:31 PM
williamsatown's Avatar
williamsatown williamsatown is offline
TT Regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2020
Boat: No
Location: Southeast
Posts: 40
I had the same issue.

I went with the manual Rule pump and the float switch. That way I didnít have to change the wiring. I actually completed that change out about an hour ago.

Let me know how you fixed your wiring if you made the change to the three wire. Just curious

Name:  image-2021-05-15-22:31:28-850.jpg
Views: 56
Size:  63.9 KB
Name:  image-2021-05-15-22:31:13-144.jpg
Views: 55
Size:  57.7 KB


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-15-2021, 10:59 PM
MLA MLA is offline
MC Devotee
 
Join Date: May 2012
Boat: pontoon
Location: Lake Wylie Area
Posts: 1,994
The old float B+ goes to the new pump brown

Old pump brown goes to new pump brown/wht

black to black
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-15-2021, 11:00 PM
MLA MLA is offline
MC Devotee
 
Join Date: May 2012
Boat: pontoon
Location: Lake Wylie Area
Posts: 1,994
The old float B+ goes to the new pump brown

Old pump brown goes to new pump brown/wht

black to black
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-15-2021, 11:03 PM
williamsatown's Avatar
williamsatown williamsatown is offline
TT Regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2020
Boat: No
Location: Southeast
Posts: 40
Do you just cap the second ground wire that was with the original float?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-15-2021, 11:39 PM
MLA MLA is offline
MC Devotee
 
Join Date: May 2012
Boat: pontoon
Location: Lake Wylie Area
Posts: 1,994
Stand alone floats are typically only 2 wires, no ground. Battery B+ in, then out when water raises the float.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
auto, bilge, float, rule, switch

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:32 PM.


2020